gabbywild

Global adventures of a windblown, thrill-driven aspiring veterinarian

The Irish Adventure Begins! June 24, 2011

I’m at it again! But this time it’s Ireland, and I’m cross-country horseback riding it to raise funds for the Equine Division of the Humane Society of the United States.

So what does this cross-country horseback riding adventure entail? The first part of the adventure across the Emerald Isle begins in the village of Dunfanaghy on the shores of Sheephaven Bay. The second part of the journey will take Gabby Wild out to the immaculate Dingle Peninsula located just above the Ring of Kerry. Every day I will be on the back of the horse riding across the Emerald Isle between 4-6 hours a day. The temperature is quite cool, and the bit of rain we expect during this time of year will help keep the horse cool. And if you were thinking, “Where are you going to put a horse at night?” Don’t worry, I have that covered- everywhere I go in Ireland, the horse will be housed in stables on the accomodations’ premises.

This morning when I arrived in Dublin, I didn’t know what to expect except to see leprechauns hiding underneath shamrocks and rainbows. Although I have not see one yet, I’ll keep my eyes peeled and let you know if I do.

But honestly, Dublin genuinely is as gorgeous as people say. The classic Georgian architecture reminiscent of the older areas of the city, such as at Trinity College, mixed with modern architecture and art bring a variety of cultural and historical layers to the city that make Dublin so dynamic. The people are hilarious and welcoming, and there are countless sights to see that I can barely begin describing all that I have been trying to take in!

Although Dublin is wonderful, I am psyched to head out to Donegal tomorrow to begin my ride. Perhaps the best story of the day for you is my by-foot tour of Dublin. When the rain really became a bit much, I decided to take a stroll to Temple Bar, a section of Dublin filled with pubs and jolly amusement and see if there was a place that I could chill out at. Happy tunes from a group of group of fiddle and banjo players caught my attention at Oliver St. John Gogarty, a pub established in 1835. Gogerty’s had endless charisma with candle-stuffed wine bottles placed in the dark, wooden pub that had copper pots and pans hanging from the ceiling and pitchers of Guinness lined up along the table tops and counters. I’m not much of a drinker. In fact, I’ll be quite honest: I do not drink at all, but I still wanted to enjoy the music! So while the gents beside me chugged their four pints of Guinness, I sipped my four cups of tea. Together the friendly Irishmen and this hobbit-sized yankee sang and clapped to the jovial Celtic music. Just from this exuberant start, I am getting the feeling that this will be an epic adventure and a successful fundraiser.

Funds raised will be going to one of the Humane Society of the US’ current projects, The American Horse Heritage Fund (AHHF), which provides financial support to combat the horrendous slaughter of horses and their abuse in the US.

Once gabbywild.com launches, anyone can feel free to support to the cause- I’ll keep you all posted when the site is up. Every contribution helps, so please endorse the ride!

Stay Wild,

Gabby Wild

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

