gabbywild

Global adventures of a windblown, thrill-driven aspiring veterinarian

Gabby Wild Welcome! February 13, 2011

Filed under: Gabby Gabs — Gabby Wild @ 6:20 PM

Gabby Wild chilling at the Mpala Research Centre in Kenya

If you could have any superpower what would it be?” According to dailypress.com, most people would say that they want to fly, to predict the future, to have superstrength, or to have elasticity. As wonderful as all these beautiful powers are, none of them would be my answer, otherwise I’d become an astronaut, naturalist/evolutionary biologist, body builder, or pilates coach. If I could have a superpower it would be to have healing hands. Thus I’m becoming a veterinarian…

Even though I have yet to graduate college, I have practiced this superpower on four different continents studying everything from baboons in Kenya to elephants in Thailand. I’ve lived in equator-steaming African jungles and popsicle-inducing Alaskan bushes. And through each of these adventures I’ve learned great amounts about the animals I worked with and immeasurable lessons, both of which I plan to share with you.

I invite you to join me on my sled races, safaris, trail rides, wilderness treks, and countless other journeys that I have taken with animals into the wild. And as Doc from Back to the Future says, “Where we’re going we don’t need roads.”

–       Gabby Wild

P. S. On all breaks from university I travel anywhere I can work with animals, so if you have any suggestions on animals you wish for me to talk more about (even if I haven’t work on them yet), just let me know! I’m open to any comments, suggestions, and/or questions! Keep them coming and stay Wild…

http://www.dailypress.com/news/newsletter/dptop10.superpowers.pg.0220,0,2022638.photogallery

 

2 Responses to “Gabby Wild Welcome!”

  1. Sarah Byrd Says:

    Marvelous! Love your word pictures throughout! I feel as though I have been traveling with you! You have truly a gift of sensing the timeless exquisite nature of the wild. Thank you for being a voice for these magnificent creatures. I look forward to getting notifications of further posts!
    Sarah


Leave a Reply

